I'll go first...

Discussion in 'Meet & Greet' started by jeep, Jul 6, 2014.

1. jeep

jeep New Member

Hello all,

I'm JEEP. I'm an electrical engineer by education, a software engineer by profession, and I spend a lot of my hobby time with martial arts and gaming (mostly tabletop games). I'm excited to finally see a keyboard that is has most of what I want in a keyboard.

I'm in the process of converting from QWERTY to Colemak. I had considered switching to a personal layout, but Colemak with some tweaks is going to work out well for me. I left mechanical keyboards behind a while ago when I needed to switch to a tented keyboard to help save my elbow some strain.

I plan to devote some of my open source dev time to this project once there is something for me to do. I love the space where hardware and software meets and since leaving Intel a year ago, I haven't gotten enough of that.
  2. AcidFire

AcidFire I Make Stuff Staff Member

I'm glad we'll be able to get you back into mechanical boards, it sounds like you and I have had similar issues. Of course now I'm curious, you say the Axios has "most" of what you want, whats missing?
  3. jeep

jeep New Member

I'd like a pair of scroll wheels (ideally tilt wheels). One vertical and one horizontal. I'd like the tilt able to go a little steeper... but I'm not sure that is a big deal. I'm not sure how well the thumb cluster will fit my hand, so an adjustable thumb pad would be nice (but again, it may just be overdesign). And I think I prefer inverted-T arrow clusters, but I'm not sure. I haven't given this a chance, yet.
  4. AcidFire

The scroll wheels have been requested a few times, but I'm not sure what would be the best place for them. There's enough space as well for an inverted t arrow cluster, but I think that would end up being just a little too much of a reach, but there's nothing stopping it from being tested. What part of the thumb pad would you want to be adjustable that isn't already?
  5. davidaciko